Ottawa's Festival of Ideas Since 1997

Pay what you can for this event

Thank you for your interest in our programming! If you are able to make a donation it would be greatly appreciated. Tax receipts will be provided for donations of $20 or more. We hope you enjoy this event!
$5
$10
$20
$50
Other Amount:


Podcast Episode 18
12:01pm

Why Birds Sing

with Nina Berkhout
Hosted by CKCU’s Susan Johnston

Why Birds Sing

with Nina Berkhout
Hosted by CKCU’s Susan Johnston
7
Friday
May
12:01pm
Nina Berkhout - Photo by Hans Berkhout

Susan Johnston, host of CKCU’s Asking for A Friend, sits down with acclaimed Ottawa-based author and poet Nina Berkhout to talk about her most recent novel, Why Birds Sing .

 

After a very public onstage flameout, a disgraced opera singer is confronted with her crumbling marriage, a prickly and unexpected brother-in-law, and a cheeky parrot named Tulip ? and she must learn to whistle her way through it all.

From the author of Harper’s Bazaar Hottest Breakout Novel The Gallery of Lost Species comes a charming, lively, and deeply felt story that is perfect for readers of Miriam Toews’s A Complicated Kindness and Amy Jones’s We’re All in this Together.

 

When opera singer Dawn Woodward has an onstage flameout, all she wants is to be left alone. She’s soon faced with other complications the day her husband announces her estranged brother-in-law, Tariq, is undergoing cancer treatment and moving in, his temperamental parrot in tow. To make matters worse, though she can’t whistle herself, she has been tasked with teaching arias to an outspoken group of devoted siffleurs who call themselves the Warblers. Eventually, Tariq and his bird join the class, and Dawn forms unexpected friendships with her new companions. But when her marriage shows signs of trouble and Tariq’s health declines, she begins questioning her foundations, including the career that she has worked so hard to build and the true nature of love and song.

 

Books are available from our friends at  Perfect Books  .

 

The Ottawa International Writers Festival is supported by generous individuals like you. Please consider  subscribing to our newsletter  and  making a donation  to support our programming and  children’s literacy initiatives  .

 

Presented in partnership with the  Ottawa Public Library  .

 

Join Wait List

Why Birds Sing

Notify me if new tickets come available for this event

Number of tickets:
RSVP

Why Birds Sing

Please RSVP to help us gauge interest in our programming and be reminded when this event premiers