Ottawa's Festival of Ideas Since 1997

Pay what you can for this event

Thank you for your interest in our programming! If you are able to make a donation it would be greatly appreciated. Tax receipts will be provided for donations of $20 or more. We hope you enjoy this event!
$5
$10
$20
$50
Other Amount:


The Silver Arrow

with Lev Grossman
Hosted by CBC's Alan Neal

The Silver Arrow

with Lev Grossman
Hosted by CBC's Alan Neal
Lev Grossman - Photo by Mathieu Bourgois

Join us for a live chat with Lev Grossman, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Magicians, on the occasion of his newest creation, The Silver Arrow , a middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl’s delightful books. Our host is CBC Radio's Alan Neal.

 

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don't have much to look forward to. Why can't Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane -- that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she's never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

 

Kate and Tom's parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas -- and so does the Silver Arrow -- and soon they're off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

 

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.

 

 

A limited number of signed books are available from our friends at Perfect Books.

 

The Ottawa International Writers Festival is supported by generous individuals like you. Please consider subscribing to our newsletter and making a donation to support our programming and children’s literacy initiatives.

 

 

Join Wait List

The Silver Arrow

Notify me if new tickets come available for this event

Number of tickets:
RSVP

The Silver Arrow

Please RSVP to help us gauge interest in our programming and be reminded when this event premiers