Ottawa's Festival of Ideas Since 1997
Ottawa City Hall110 Laurier Avenue West

City of Ottawa Book Awards / Prix du Livre D'Ottawa

City of Ottawa Book Awards / Prix du Livre D'Ottawa

Ottawa City Hall
110 Laurier Avenue West

From intense drama and captivating short stories, to riveting history and elegant poetry, this year’s finalists for the 2018 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa have something for everyone.


The awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by local authors. Finalists include 15 prominent authors from Ottawa’s thriving literary community.


2018 Ottawa Book Awards finalists:


English Fiction

  • Henry Beissel, What if Zen Gardens… (Guernica Editions Inc)
  • Nina Berkhout, The Mosaic (Groundwood Books)
  • Joanne Proulx, We All Love the Beautiful Girls (Penguin Random House of Canada)
  • Shane Rhodes, Dead White Men (Coach House Books)
  • Jeff Ross, Up North (Orca Book Publishers)


English Non-Fiction

  • Constance Backhouse, Claire L’Heureux-Dubé: A Life (University of British Columbia Press)
  • Tim Cook, Vimy: The Battle and the Legend (Allen Lane Canada (Penguin Canada)
  • Roy MacGregor, Original Highways: Travelling the Great Rivers of Canada (Penguin Random House of Canada)
  • Donald G. Mahar, Shattered Illusions: KGB Cold War Espionage in Canada (Rowman & Littlefield)
  • Dorothy Anne Phillips, Victor and Evie: British Aristocrats in Wartime Rideau Hall (McGill-Queens University Press)

2018 Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists


French Fiction

  • Mireille Groleau, Souffles de cathédrales (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Véronique-Marie Kaye, Andréanne Mars (Éditions Prise de parole)
  • Andrée Lacelle, La Visiteuse (Éditions Prise de parole)
  • Alain Bernard Marchand, Sept vies, dix-sept morts (Les Herbes Rouges)
  • Blaise Ndala, Sans capote ni kalachnikov (Mémoire d’encrier)

Descriptions of short-listed books and author biographies are available on


The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony, which will take place at Ottawa City Hall  on Wednesday, October 17 at 7 pm in Jean Pigott Place. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will each receive $1,000.


The following awards will also be presented at the ceremony: The Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry (link is external)  and Le Prix Émergence AAOF de littérature jeunesse – 2018. (link is external)


Past winners of the Ottawa Book Awards include Nadine McInnis, Charlotte Gray and David O’Meara. Past winners of the Prix du livre d’Ottawa include Pierre-Luc Landry, Andrée Christensen and Margaret Michèle Cook.

Join Wait List

City of Ottawa Book Awards / Prix du Livre D'Ottawa

Notify me if new tickets come available for this event

Number of tickets:

City of Ottawa Book Awards / Prix du Livre D'Ottawa

Please RSVP to help us gauge interest in our programming and be reminded when this event premiers