Ottawa's Festival of Ideas Since 1997
Ottawa City Hall, Jean-Pigott Place110 Laurier Ave W.

City of Ottawa Book Awards

City of Ottawa Book Awards

Ottawa City Hall, Jean-Pigott Place
110 Laurier Ave W.

The Ottawa Book Award and the Prix du livre d’Ottawa  

Four $7,500 prizes will be awarded to the winning authors in the categories of English fiction, English non-fiction and French Fiction, and French Non-Fiction. 

The Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry will also be presented. This award is administered by Arc Poetry Magazine, and the winner will receive a $1,500 prize for best book of poetry in the region.


A special thank you to:
Ottawa Public Library / Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa

L'Association des auteures et auteurs de l'Ontario français

and  ARC Poetry Magazine

for their collaboration in this year's event.

From intense drama and captivating short stories, to riveting history and elegant poetry, this year’s finalists for the 2017 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa have something for everyone.

The awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by local authors. Finalists include 15 prominent authors from Ottawa’s thriving literary community.

2017 Ottawa Book Awards finalists:

English Fiction
Peggy Blair, Umbrella Man (Simon & Schuster Canada)
Nadia Bozak, Thirteen Shells (House of Anansi Press)
Faizal Deen, The Greatest Films (Mawenzi House Publishers)
Katherine Leyton, All the Gold Hurts My Mouth (Goose Lane Editions)
John Metcalf, The Museum at the End of the World (Biblioasis)

English Non-Fiction
Kevin Burns, Henri Nouwen: His Life and Spirit (Franciscan Media)
Deborah Gorham, Marion Dewar: A Life of Action (Second Story Press)
Charlotte Gray, The Promise of Canada: 150 Years – People and Ideas That Have Shaped our Country (Simon & Schuster Canada)
Nathan M. Greenfield, The Reckoning: Canadian Prisoners of War in the Great War (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)
D. Peter MacLeod, Backs to the Wall: The Battle of Sainte-Foy and the Conquest of Canada (Douglas & McIntyre)

2017 Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists:

French Fiction

Jean Boisjoli, La mesure du temps (Éditions Prise de parole)
Andrée Christensen, Épines d’encre (Les Éditions David)
Marie Gingras, La poulette grise (Éditions Vents d’Ouest)
Christian Milat, Si je connaissais… (Les Éditions David)
Sébastien Pierroz, Entre parenthèses (Éditions Prise de parole)

Descriptions of short-listed books and author biographies are available on

The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony, which will take place at Ottawa City Hall on Wednesday, October 18 at 7 p.m. in Jean Pigott Place. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will each receive $1,000.


Join Wait List

City of Ottawa Book Awards

Notify me if new tickets come available for this event

Number of tickets:

City of Ottawa Book Awards

Please RSVP to help us gauge interest in our programming and be reminded when this event premiers