Ottawa's Festival of Ideas Since 1997

Mark Billingham

Mark Billingham
Photo by Charlie Hopkinson

Mark Billingham was born and brought up in Birmingham. Having worked for some years as an actor and more recently as a TV writer and stand-up comedian his first crime novel was published in 2001.

Sleepyhead was an instant bestseller in the UK. It has been sold widely throughout the world and was published in the USA in the summer of 2002.

The series of crime novels featuring London-based detective Tom Thorne continued with Scaredy Cat and was followed by Lazybones, The Burning Girl, Lifeless, Buried, Death Message, Bloodline, From The Dead and the most recent, Good As Dead . Mark is also the author of the standalone novel In The Dark as well as a series of children’s thrillers – Triskellion – written under the pseudonym Will Peterson.

Mark's next book, a second standalone thriller called Rush Of Blood, will be published in August 2012.

An acclaimed television series based on the Thorne novels was screened on Sky One in Autumn 2010, starring David Morrissey as Tom Thorne. An adaptation of In The Dark is currently in development at the BBC.

Mark lives in London with his wife and two children. He is currently writing his next novel.

Join the mailing list.

Writers Festival Appearances