Jasper Fforde was born in 1961 and spent his early career in the film industry. He is the author of several novels, which cross over genres, and are a mixture of fantasy, crime thriller, and humorous fiction. They are noted for their literary allusions, wordplay and tight plots. His series starring literary detective Thursday Next includes The Eyre Affair, Lost in a Good Book, The Well of Lost Plots, Something Rotten, and First Among Sequels. A further series, referred to as his 'Nursery Crime' series, includes the whodunnits The Big Over Easy and The Fourth Bear. He uses the internet to add a different level to the books themselves (http://www.jasperfforde.com), and to talk with his fans online.

His latest novel, and the fifth Thursday Next book, First Among Sequels, was published in 2007, the fifth 'Thursday Next' book; and he is working on The Last Great Tortoise Race, the third in his 'Nursery Crime' series.

Festival: 2007 (fall)

back button